Sunday, July 26, 2009

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development or OECD is the leading source for comparison statistics on the the world's developed economies. It collects information on economic, finance, trade, development, healthcare, agriculture, tax and technology indicators. Key members include US,France, Germany, Japan, UK, Italy, Canada, Mexico and Australia.

When a country joins the OECD, it is considered to have "arrived" in terms of 1st world development. Mexico was admitted in 1994; Korea and Poland were admitted in 1996. BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries have been invited to join.

The organization has a reputation for promoting free market policies.

Headquarters is in Paris, France.


No comments:

Blog Archive